Javier Bardem, Best Supporting Actor, for No Country for Old Men dedicated his Academy Award to his mother. He added in a small thanks in Spanish for her. I figured I would translate it for those who do not have the advantage of three years of high school Spanish under their belts (or an online translator).

Original Acceptance Speech:

bardem.jpgWow. Alright, this is very amazing. It’s a great honor for me to have this. I want to I have to speak fast here, man. Thank you to the Coens for being crazy enough to think that I could do that and put one of the most horrible haircuts in history over my head.

Thank you for really proving my work. I want to share this with the cast, with the great Tommy Lee Jones, with the great Josh Brolin, with the great Kelly MacDonald. And I want to dedicate this to my mother, and I have to say this in Spanish, and I’m sorry…

2008_bardemj_02.jpgMama esto es para ti. Esto es para tus abuelos, para tus padres, Rafael y Matilde. Esto es para los comicos de Espana que han traido la dignidad y el orgullo a nuestro oficio.

Esto es para Espana. Y esto es para todos vosotros.

Thank you very much!”

Translated:

“Mom this is for you. This is for your grandfathers, for your parents, Rafael and Matilde. This is for the Spanish comics that have brought the dignity and the pride to our position.

This is for Spain. And this is for all you”.

