Movies may need to boost their effects in order to keep up with changing displays. The movie The Bucket List opened to mixed reviews. The movie had fine acting, a sentimental yet comedic, tearjerker plot, and an underdeveloped look into the struggle of cancer patients. The message was good and I don’t believe there is a critic that can argue that.

There was a bigger problem than the script for me. I watched the film in a theater with Digital projection. The biggest difference is there are no scratches, or burns. Generally it make for a slightly improved experience. It is just an overall clearer picture. A simplistic technical explaination is a movie can either come on a film reel or a harddrive.

Green Screen

The Bucket List used superimposed backgrounds in a lot of its scenes or green/blue screen. Essentially two images are combined or layered to look like one scene. I have come to associate this with campy television or reporting. The effect looked horrible. I am looking for responses from DV-Forums to see how the new formats change their output. I am really interested in what can be improved and what effects if anything are being abandoned.

 

The best example I could find

This image of Morgan Freeman and Jack Nicholson from The Bucket List is the best example I could find. This is an attempt to make it look like Nicholson and Freeman are sitting atop a desert pyramid in Egypt. There are much more blantant examples of flaws in the actual film. The director tried to cram in a bunch of backgrounds to look like Nicholson and Freeman traveled the world but the settings looked cheap.

Maybe the technology is not to blame here by how this one film utilized it. I am not against the tool it has been used many times and worked well. I am saying if the technology is skewing it, it maybe time to upgrade.

